Recognised Organisations

Antigua and Barbuda has authorised nine of the members of the International Association of Classification Societies (IACS) as recognised organisations.

Agreements are in place with all nine Societies in accordance with the IMO requirements and all nine Societies are authorised also as Recognised Security Organisations, and as Recognised Organisations for the application of the Maritime Labour Convention as well as for the application of the other Conventions. As of 12 September 2013, DNV and GL merged to form DNV GL AS and currently operate under the terms of the agreement with DNV. This arrangement is explained in  more detail in Information Notice 2014-005

The nine Recognised Organisations are:

American Bureau of Shipping ABS
Bureau Veritas BV
China Classification Society CCS
Korean Register of Shipping KRS
Lloyds Register of Shipping LR
Nippon  Kaiji Kyokai ClassNK
RINA Services S.p.A RINA
Russian Register of Shipping RS